Home > Movies, Parenthood > The hap, hap, happiest Christmas since Bing Crosby tap-danced with Danny fucking Kaye

The hap, hap, happiest Christmas since Bing Crosby tap-danced with Danny fucking Kaye

And if you didn’t get the movie reference in today’s title, get thee immediately to a TV set and watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Seriously, go now. I’ll wait.

OK, you back? Good. Then let’s talk about Christmas 2007. In a word, awesome.

In more words:

The festivities began after work on Christmas Eve. Penny and I both worked half days at our respective jobs in Boston while my mom babysat Ethan back at the old homestead in Rowley. After work we all got together—my grandmother (aka Nanny), my parents (aka Nana and Grumpa), my brother and his kids, and my sister and her kids—to exchange gifts and holiday merriment. My eight-year-old nephew Jacob even bought (with his own money!) a gift just for me. A good time was had by all.

Back at home we dressed Ethan in his special Christmas PJs and I read him The Night Before Christmas (though, admittedly, he was more interested in playing with the buttons on the humidifier in his bedroom) before we tucked him into his crib for the night. He has a bad cold right now (which, in the spirit of the season, he has re-gifted to me) but somehow he managed to sleep through the night. He woke up at 5:00 in the morning, but we were able to get him to fall back asleep till about 7:00 or so. I suspect this is the last Christmas where that will be an option.

When we finally did get out of bed, I went downstairs first to turn on the tree, get the coffee brewing, and make sure Santa had come. Once again the jolly old elf came through! Penny carried Ethan down the stairs while I broke out the rarely-used video recorder to capture the moment. We then let Ethan scurry over to his stocking and presents, which he did with much vigor.

He definitely got the hang of Christmas pretty quickly. Within seconds he was pulling and tugging at (and drooling in the general direction of) the wrapping paper and basically going whole hog at the Christmas experience. The only thing he still needs to learn is that not ALL of the gifts under the tree are his. (Though most were.) He got a goregous wooden sled from my parents, loads of bath toys, a couple of fire trucks, some picture books (including “Daddy is a Doodlebug” — Santa and I are going to have a little chat about that one), and a great drum/tamborine combo set from my brother.

(And speaking of gifts, Penny got me a digital photo frame pre-loaded with pictures of Ethan. Best gift ever.)

After dropping off some cookies at various neighbors’ houses, we packed up and headed to Lowell for Christmas with Penny’s parents (aka Nana and Papa), her brother Jeremy, and his wife Jessica. Not content to simply bake a ham, Penny’s mom also tackled the traditional Christmas goose. And boy was it tasty! There were more gifts exchanged (my favorites were the pirate-themed plate, cup, and spoon for Ethan) and much holiday cheer. 

Eventually we made it home, got Ethan to bed, and collapsed. Now that’s what I call a good Christmas!

Categories: Movies, Parenthood
  1. Penny
    December 26, 2007 at 12:34 pm | #1

    I like how we have different times on our blogs of what time Ethan awoke in the morning. I thought it was 4:30 and then again at 7:30. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

